• + Reply to Thread

Thread: Cryptocaryon (Ich) treatment instructions from SeaChem techsupport

Delphin22 is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Cryptocaryon (Ich) treatment instructions from SeaChem techsupport

Hello all.

I know some say there are a million posts a week here about ich but I thought this info might help some of the others in this mess treating a reef tank for cryptocaryon.
      I posed these questions to Seachem for clarification on use of thier products
      Metrodiazonole, FOCUS, Garli Gaurd, Prime
      The post I did and responses are below:

I'm a noob, 2 months with a Salt water mixed reef tank.
      We got a new Regal Blue Hippo Dory Tang (LOL).
      She has Ich, I guess this is common.
      Obviously I should have used a dip and QT, but didnt. (noob)

I have a 90 gal tall ,30 gal sump, 55lbs live rock, 50lbs Live Sand. so treating about 100 gal
      Everyone on www.sdreefs.com recommends your products for this treatment of ich (cryptocaryon) in a reef tank.
      I'm treating with Metronidazole, Focus and Garlic Gaurd.

I have a few questions:

1. What is one measure, a level scoop or heaping scoop should I use a knife or something to level off the scoop provided to be accurate?

2. If I am treating Ich should I dose the water every other day for 4 more days after all the visible ich are off my Tang or just stop? So far shes the only one with visible spots.

3. Should I use the recommended 1.25 measures per 10 gal with scaleless fish like the Blue Tang, Oscellaris Clowns and Lawnmower Blenny?

4. Should I do water changes while treating or just wait till last dose and then do a 20% change?

5. For Ich do I need to use the Focus and if so should I add the Metronidazole to the food as well since its an external parasite? Also if I do, will either of these upset my Tang's digestive system?