• + Reply to Thread
    Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Algae issues and question

navysquid is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Algae issues and question

Ok so I have Lots of hair algae probably green hair and bryopsis and film. I have been battling for a couple months and it overwhelming. I have moved most of my coral to a different tank. My question is if I cover the tank for a extended period of time will my fish be ok ad long as I do water changes and will green star poylp, mushrooms rock anemone survive. Any other tips or ideas

jkennedy1007 is offline Premium Member
      My status is: Reefer

I am:
      Hungry

why don't you solve your problem than prolonging and making it worst

1.)phos reactor
      2.)UV sterilizer
      3.)HOG up flow algae scrubber
      4.) refugium with opposite hours of lighting
      5.)Turbo snails and invertebrate clean up crew

million other ways to combat this issue, choose 1

CMD2213 is offline Registered User
      My status is: Downgrade to upgrade

I am:
      Tired

Water changes you can use microbacter7 to reduce organic matter light either lower output and shorten time but this is ALL TEMPORARY I had issues limit over feeding if feeding frozen drain out excess liquids example mysis thaw it out drain the fluids then add to tank.
      I evn used tweezers to pull the hair algae after a sw/hydrogen peroxide bath. Siphon the sand bed make sure no dead spots from flow. Just being on top of issues from the get go is a must!
      Gl

seanmcknew is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

I solved my hair algae with a tang and a sea hare. Be careful sea hares though if they die in your tank they will crash your tank.

jason142 is offline SDR Moderator
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Cool

You can also raise your magnesium level, what is it currently?

Squid is offline Registered User
      My status is: Make like a cake