• Tired
  • + Reply to Thread

Thread: Phyto Culture

goody is offline Premium Member
      My status is: Upgrading to 150g soon!

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Phyto Culture

This is my first attempt at culturing phytoplankton. I purchased a 16oz bottle of nannochloropsis. It's been 7 days and I was planning on splitting it today. Does it appear ready to harvest? I actually want to make a few bottles for my tanks and keep about half in the container add some newly mixed saltwater and more fertilizer to start next batch. Is there anything wrong with this method? Should I take all phyto out and sterilize container before next batch? Photo comparison of last Saturday to today.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
      150g glass w/ corner overflow , 60g sump w/refugium, Eheim 1262 return, SRO 2000int skimmer, ATI Dimmable Sunpower 8x54w fixture, 2 Tunze 6105 and 2 tunze 6025 modded.

PatientZero is online now Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

I’ve kept cultures going for months with this method. For me, I eventually ended up with a contaminant green algae that I think came from my water source. I used a 3 gallon beverage container with a plastic spigot and just took from it each day to feed the tank.

Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Also, algae research supply .com had tons of cultures if you want to get t creative. They’re located in Carlsbad too so little chance of cultures dying in the mail.

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Quote Originally Posted by PatientZero View Post
      I’ve kept cultures going for months with this method. For me, I eventually ended up with a contaminant green algae that I think came from my water source. I used a 3 gallon beverage container with a plastic spigot and just took from it each day to feed the tank.
      Thanks. So regardless of how much phyto I leave in the vessel, would I still add the amount of F2 fertilizer for 1 gallon (saltwater/phyto) culture?