• Tired
  • + Reply to Thread

Thread: Par and Lux. Setting Your Leds and Lights on the Cheap

crabbysd is offline Registered User
      My status is: Damp to the armpit

I am:
      Geeky

Par and Lux. Setting Your Leds and Lights on the Cheap

Hi all. One of the biggest and hardest thing for me getting into the hobby was understanding light. When I asked at many LFS how much light I needed for what, i got the eye roll and was told it was really too complicated. I tried some forums and was told the same, or flamed, or I needed a per meter. I found that pretty odd as well they dont know me or my capacity for learning, or That I have been measuring light for 20 years and manipulating filtering and using the visible spectrum for the same amount of time.

This led me to a major scientific break though.

These people dont know what the %&*%#&!!! they are talking about.

Here is how it works.

Light is measured in many ways, the most important is intensity, it is meaured in Footcandles and lux and umol pers2. The umol is a complex mathematical pain for most. so ill ignore it now.

In Lux and FC, light falls on an object and we want to know how much.
      With a meter in the dark it is Zero.
      During the brightest day, on average its about 100,000 lux.

Yes it changes with clouds seasons etc but scientists need a standard. Like celcius.

SO....What about PAR. Photosynthetically Useful Radiation
      To maintain a standard they assigned a number to the best possible amount of par easily available to us. The sun.
      The par of the sun on the same bright day is 2000 par.
      Remember the same bright day is 100,000 lux......Right?

So that means there is a mathematical conversion factor from lux to par!

That mathematical conversion factor is called a Constant.

http://www.apogeeinstruments.com/conversion-ppf-to-lux/
      http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2008/2/review

Each light source has a different amount of Photosynthetically Active Radiation.