Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 40 gallon breeder build

scelona is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

40 gallon breeder build

Hey guys,
      I am starting a thread to track the progress of my 40 gallon breeder build. I am brand new to reefing so any feedback would be much appreciated. I initially was planning to set my tank up sumpless but eventually changed my mind. I am planning on doing a peaceful community tank with all softies. I plan to start with the corals and add fish 72 days after the last coral addition.

I don't have a set coral list but my tentative fish list is:
      - pair of clowns (don't know breed yet)
      - diamond watchman goby
      - purple or exquisite firefish
      - 3 pajama or Banggai cardinal fish

Current equipment list:
      - 40 gallon breeder tank, back spray painted black with two 1" bulkheads and one 3/4" bulkhead for the return
      - 20 gallon tall sump with custom glass baffles (I went with the tall to leave a little extra room under my tank for other equipment)
      - 35 lbs of live rock with another ~30 being picked up today
      - 40 lbs live sand/40 lbs dry aragonite
      - 3 hydor koralia 425 powerheads
      - Stand with canopy
      - Eheim compact+ 2000 return pump
      - Eheim 200w heater
      - Cheap counter current protein skimmer (will upgrade eventually when I get fish)
      - Overflow box rated at 1200 GPH
      - Canister filter that I want to convert into a reactor
      - For lighting I have decided to do LED, the two frontrunners at the moment are a Reef Breeders photon 24" and a 32" fixture from BuildMyLED

My sump (and cat) after testing it for leaks. The bubble trap goes under over under:

I am doing a Herbie overflow with 1" pvc for both the siphon drain and the emergency drain:

My plumbing from the back:

A closeup of the mounting brackets I used:

I am so excited to get started in reefing and the setup has been a blast so far.