Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: External pump VS Internal

Saltbandit is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

External pump VS Internal

Hey all,
      I am new to the hobby and currently stumped with mixed opinions about pumps. I was going to buy a skimmer pump, a return pump and a pump for a reactor. Someone mentioned to me that buying a external pump and run all three items off of it would work. Any input from yall would be helpfull. Thanks

wholagan is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Doesn't necessarily have to be external to do that. I have a QuietOne 6000 as a return and I tee'd it off to also run my 2 chamber reactor. I can't do this for my skimmer since it requires a different kind of pump.
      SDMAS Treasurer

Wholagan's Island 120g Build
      120g 4'x2'x2', ASM G2 Skimmer, Eheim 1262, Maxspect Razor 27" 16k, Jebo WP-40 and WP-25 wavemaker pump

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...ps18369467.jpg

Saltbandit is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Thanks. I just went aheas and bought the sedra 5000 and a gen x external pump

SDguy is offline Site Moderator
      My status is: All good

I am:
      Geeky

Yeah I feed my calcium reactor and carbon reactor and chiller off my return pump without issue. You want to have your skimmer feed pump to be dedicated though. For a skimmer to run at peak performance, it must be in a constant environment. That means water level, pump pressure, air flow, back pressure on the return, etc.
      Peter

Salty fingers since 1989. Current tanks: 240g FOWLR, 15g QT.

sbarber is offline Registered User
      Enter Status Here..

I am:
      Set you mood here...

Sounds risky to have your whole setup run on one pump. That's asking a lot from a single mechanical device regardless of GPH.

I am:
      Geeky