PDA

View Full Version : energy efficient lighting / plant advice

belladoula
03-13-2013, 04:46 PM
I am pretty new to fish aquariums, but I have been doing my research for a while on how to improve my plant growth/looks.

I have a variety of live plants in my tank including pennywort, moneywort, Amazon sword, a moss ball, pontederifolia, bacopa, 2 rotala indica bunches, and floating wisteria for fry to hide in. I want one more background plant such as anacharis, but for some reason the one I had slowly died.

I was using Aqueon liquid plant food, but have since used my first bottle and am looking for something better for my plants. I also added Seachem Flourish Excel since the beginning of February. I went to a LFS and the entire Seachem line was recommended to me instead of the liquid plant food. I only bought the Nitrogen and Iron to start. While the lady made it seem as if it would be really easy to add to my routine I haven't found it to be so. I don't know how to measure the iron in my water to know how much to add. I haven't had any luck online figuring this part out, so I haven't added it.. I was also recommended the Macro Micro Nutrient Mix from aquariumfertilizer.com, but there are very few reviews on it. Anyone have experience with this?