PDA

View Full Version : Hi SD Reefers!

Carq91
10-08-2012, 05:56 PM
Im Carlos im new to SDR well over im new to Saltwater/ Reef Tanks i have had a freshwater tank for years but decided to finally go saltwater and im in love with it! with a lil help from you guys i will get on the right path!

So i started my tank 1week ago last last Sunday the 30th with just water and saltmix, and added Natures Ocean live sand last Tuesday so will be a week tomorrow running the tank with sand. I just bought some live Fiji Rock on Saturday and put that in. oh by the way i have a 72gal bow front tank with a aquaticlife T5 6lamp fixture also have a 20 gal sump/refugium.

My fist question is how long do u think i need to let my tank cycle and when can i start putting in my fish and Corals?

I tested my water yesterday and My nitrite is 0 my nitrate is 0 my PH is 8.4 and my Ammonia is 0.

I hope to get lost of help new to this so any help and free stuff will be appreciated!

still looking for some free Cheato for my sump if anybody has some close to Oceanside.

Thanks from your new SDR buddy, Carlos Q

Goldfish World
10-08-2012, 06:00 PM
Just keep it running a little bit more patience is the key to this hobby, keep up with the water monitoring and the first animal you should put in are the clean up crew.

welcome to SDreefs

Carq91
10-08-2012, 06:04 PM
Ok thanks Goldfish World! and CLEAN UP CREW? what would that be?

slicktoppomp
10-08-2012, 06:23 PM
Clean up crew meaning things like snails and hermit crabs and such. Critters that naturally help keep the tank clean. Welcome to SDR.

Carq91
10-08-2012, 06:45 PM
Ok sounds good thanks for the help guys!

XO PRESENTS
10-08-2012, 06:50 PM
Welcome to the boards bud.... ask away......

Carq91
10-08-2012, 07:23 PM
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t67/carq91/Fish%20Tank/th_IMG_1371-1.jpg (http://s157.photobucket.com/albums/t67/carq91/Fish%20Tank/?action=view&current=IMG_1371-1.jpg)

This is my Tank as it stands today! (:

Radman