PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone!!!! My specs, first questions, and noobness.

Dinosaurs!!!
09-10-2012, 01:43 PM
Hi there!!!! So it was about time for me to join this forum, I've been a North County resident for almost 3 years now, and a reefkeeper in the area for about 2.5 of those years....So when I first moved here before finding permanent work I helped out occasionally at Tri City and became desperate to get my hands on a temporary fix...even if it meant picking up a used uniquarium :/ So thats what I've been running for the past couple of years, its doing quite well, however the lack of ability to modify this thing is making me start to twitch a little bit. Now that I've landed and kept a good job it's time to set my sights in a bit of a better direction...I am hoping by the end of the year I will have a 72 bowfront not only up and running but highly upgraded. I'm in the market for a new skimmer, I've got my eye on some LED's hopefully to kick off the new year, and a few more special ideas are a-brewin' :o) So here's to a new build....wish me luck!!!!!

My current specs, as they stand:
*50g uniquarium: 35 display, 15g..."sump". Ugh.
*Redsea Prizm skimmer
*1x 250w Halide
*2x 39w 18000k t5s (Why these too? I can only run the halide for 3-4 hrs. per day because i can't attach a fan to this nimwad of a tank, and i can't run a chiller because of the joys of apartment living...so these fellas do the work for the remaining 4-6 hrs of the day.)
*2x 39w actinic t5
*4x moon led
*Tunze osmolator ATO
*BRS dual media recator, carbon & GFO
*Koralia Evolutions 1400 + 550 <---totally getting the smartwave for these.
*Coralife 50gpd 4 stage ro/di which lives under my kitchen sink and hooks up to the faucet, in case you were wondering how that works in an apt.
*45-50ish lbs LR

Livestock (keeping it VERY simple until the upgrade):
1x Bar Goby
1x Flame tail shrimp goby
1x Mandarin...who, by the way, eats frozen mysis like its his job ;)
Duncan
Acan Rotundaflora