PDA

View Full Version : Why hello there!

Dugaru
07-21-2012, 07:57 PM
Hey all, I am new to SD Reefs - recommended here by my brother-in-law (don't know his site handle). I am new to saltwater keeping though I have been keeping fresh water for about 6 or so months now. I am pretty stoked to get into the hobby and was able to get some great deals today through both an SD Reef member (Esco reef) as well as a sponsor (thanks for the great deal on the skimmer, JoJo). I also had the pleasure of meeting Dave at Aquatica in San Marcos. That place is legit and I am stoked that there is such a high quality place so much closer to home than Clairmont!

No tank pics yet as I just picked it up today, but it is a 45 gallon cube with weir-based overflow. I'll be running an ~10-15 gallon sump using an AquaTop 740GPH return pump and the SC150 protein skimmer I got a Goldfish World (gotta buy the Red Devil impeller, the original one is having the, apparently, typical issues that those pumps have). Still gotta get the sump divided, run plumbing, buy/cure live rock, as well as build a hood with built-in LEDs (likely ~18ish CREE LEDs from RapidLED.com on multiple drivers to simulate natural light). After setup, I will be keeping mostly soft corals, LPS and fish (excluding clean-up crew).

Anyways - I'll do my best not to lurk and ask questions whenever they come up. My experience with the community has so far been great and I am excited to get started and hopefully get to know some of you a bit better :-)

Oh yeah.. about me.. I grew up in Scripps Ranch, went to school in San Luis Obispo and currently live in San Marcos. I work in IT at a company in Carlsbad. I enjoy playing video games, hanging out with friends and family and, of course messing around with my fishies :-)

slicktoppomp
07-21-2012, 08:14 PM
Welcome to the forum! :D

anothereefer
08-02-2012, 05:23 PM