PDA

View Full Version : Return Pump

Mike A
01-03-2012, 07:16 PM
What is the quietest submersible pump for 130g with 5' of head loss for my sump, and how should it properly be plumed? PVC? flex tubbing? ballvalves? checkvalves? unions? Bulkhead for the return line is 1"

bpro32
01-03-2012, 07:19 PM
How much flow do you want going through your sump? Some people like 3-5x tank turnover and others prefer 10x+. If you tell us your preference we can help you out.

Mike A
01-03-2012, 07:34 PM
Enough flow to keep everything alive.lol The drain pipe is 1 1/2" and the skimmer box was custom made and im not sure what it can handle,Im still new to the hobbie so im not sure what turnover rate is acceptable. The flow in the display tank seem's very good with the 6000 running wide open and the 2x Koralia power heads. With the headloss of just over 5' im getting roughly 1097gph. Where the tank is located in the house, its the humming of the pump that im trying to eliminate. ive insulated the pipe, and have it so the pump is in the sump not touching anything its just hanging about 1" above the sump floor

ensiferum321
01-03-2012, 07:55 PM
This. http://www.google.com/products/catalog?rlz=1C1CHKZ_enUS431US432&q=eheim+1262&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=16239047713533411959&sa=X&ei=iM0DT5XZEKqbiAKNwvjSDg&ved=0CEYQ8wIwAQ

surfnsd
01-03-2012, 08:31 PM
Yup the Eheim 1262 is my personal choice. Ive got one on my 120 and its completely silent externally (and I still have no doors on my stand). I had a 1260 on my 80 in the sump and it never made a sound and worked flawlessly for over a year.

h20poloman
01-03-2012, 09:46 PM
I run the oceanrunner 2500 on my 120 and it's been a great pump, extremely quite and I would say competes extremely well with eheim....basically the same thing and a little more energy efficient.

Bogg
01-03-2012, 10:45 PM
1.Laguna max flo 1500
2. Eheim 1260

Trickman2
01-08-2012, 10:05 PM
Eheim or a ampmaster pump. depending on how much power you want

SDguy