PDA

View Full Version : Building a Rimless Tank

BigMike80
01-22-2011, 05:39 PM
Hey guys....Im in the planning stage of setting up a 15g rimless nano reef tank. I really like DIY projects and would like to actually build the tank and an LED pendant for it.

I have ZERO experience working with glass though and am wondering if there is anyone in SD that has experience with this that would be willing to lend a helping hand? It's not something that will happen really soon (gotta find a place to live before putting the tank together) but I figured I would ask here anyway.

I would provide pizza and beer (maybe some Stone Brewery?) Might have to wait till after the tank is built to enjoy the Stone though....I want it to hold water! :cool:

Let me know if any of you guys would be interested in a "tank building party"!

Thanks,
Mike

p.s. I guess I should have put that I was looking for help in the title (sorry for being misleading).

BigMike80
01-28-2011, 10:31 AM
No one here has built their own glass tank?

theicecreamdan
01-28-2011, 10:48 AM
The tank building party sounds cool, but I don't have any experience building a tank.

If anything starts to get planned including somebody with experience, I'd be interested in learning something.

splitkooks
01-28-2011, 02:20 PM
hit up LarryM, i know its his actual business, but that also may entail trade secrets...ive found a few by a quick google

splitkooks
01-28-2011, 02:22 PM
http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/diy_acrylic_aquarium.php

BigMike80
01-29-2011, 07:34 PM
Thanks for the info. I've read through many tutorials but would like to have someone there who has some experience building tanks. It may be a while before I pull the trigger on putting the tank together. But I will definitely let you guys know when I plan to do this. I think a tank building party would be pretty fun.

fishnsd
01-31-2011, 06:52 AM