PDA

View Full Version : Led Beware!

keepitclean
11-10-2010, 03:38 PM
Disclaimer: I have been reefing for 3 years but am def not a pro.....

THat being said I just received two new (120 wtt) led units from ledwholesalers.com. The lights look great on the tank but.......... they are so loud its ridiculous.

Any suggestions to tone down the noise???

keepitclean
11-10-2010, 05:25 PM
Bump?

kthehun89
11-10-2010, 05:45 PM
Switch out the fans that's about it

drainbamage
11-10-2010, 06:00 PM
What sorta noise? Only part that should be generating noise is the fan like above said-so if they're not aligned right and balanced, you'll get more grinding noise. Otherwise if they're just loud fans-change them out for a higher-end fan.

keepitclean
11-10-2010, 06:08 PM
Where can u get better fan from?

hughjaas
11-10-2010, 08:20 PM
Where can u get better fan from?

Frys has a lot of fans and you can return them if they don't work out. Don't get a cheap one- you definitely get what you pay for.

Thanks for the info on the fixtures. I was looking into those. I didn't even think about the noise issue.

willp2
11-10-2010, 10:23 PM
Silenx makes some very nice quiet fans. You can get them at Fry's or newegg. I replaced the fans in my NC with them and it was night and day.

http://www.silenx.com/ixtremaprofans.asp

keepitclean
11-10-2010, 10:48 PM
Anyone hook one of replacement fans before ? I have never done it and don't want to ruin the fixture...

For a product review: fixture is nice but obvious that it's in a begining stage of production....but beyond the fan, for the price it's seems to be ok deal

willp2
11-10-2010, 11:18 PM