PDA

View Full Version : Question about sump bio media

Sailor Seth
09-09-2009, 10:17 AM
I'm new to the saltwater world but I've been keeping freshwater fish for a little while. I have recently aquired a 90 gallon tall tank with a stand and versa top and a 48" T-8 light fixture and thought I would try a FOWLR tank. I have a 20 gallon long that I am going to use for a sump. I want my overflow to enter a bio ball chamber, but bio balls are a little pricey. I've heard of people using dish scrubbers as media and I thought maybe shower loofahs might work, since those generic plastic dish scrubbers are kinda hard to come by. Does anyone know if this is a good or bad idea? Like I said, I'm new to saltwater so any suggestions or advice would be great. I thank you in advance. :what:

RussM
09-09-2009, 10:26 AM
With adequate LR to act as "home" for nitrifying bacteria, there is no need to use bio-balls or equivalent... skip the whole idea ;) Bio-balls and the like are rarely used in SW systems these days.

nahtanoj
09-09-2009, 11:17 AM
agree with Russ. they tend to be more of a problem later on than they are helpful. i think i have some laying around if you really want, and i know there are plenty of people on here that have them just laying around and would probably give them to you. but, as stated before, i would not use bio balls.

Sailor Seth
09-09-2009, 01:26 PM
Thank you very much for your input guys.
Really? So I should do somewhere around 90 pounds of LR and skip the bio filter media all together? If thats the case, then my sump would basically be for heaters, a protein skimmer, and a return pump?

seesquared
09-09-2009, 01:32 PM
Thank you very much for your input guys.
Really? So I should do somewhere around 90 pounds of LR and skip the bio filter media all together? If thats the case, then my sump would basically be for heaters, a protein skimmer, and a return pump?