PDA

View Full Version : Flatworm infestation

Moldoc
08-19-2008, 04:24 PM
I apologize if this has been covered here before. I tried searching without any success. I am a complete reef newbie and recently purchased an established tank off of craigslist. The move went fine and everything survived, but now that I am researching more, I am realizing that those little brown spots that are on my mushrooms and xenias are almost definitely flatworms. Any advice on how to remove them? I have read up on Flatworm eXit but am a little nervous about using it. Are there any alternatives? What will happen if I just leave them in there? The tank is 24 gallons with a back pak skimmer. I don't know what other pertinent information there is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

467echo
08-19-2008, 04:29 PM
Try looking in the Reef Gen Disc., the Emergency section is relatively newer. I found this right away
http://www.sdreefs.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44568&highlight=flatworms

Redeye
08-19-2008, 04:38 PM
best experiance I had was by removing fish to seperate tank, pulling all large rocks and corals, dipping in bucket of tank water and STRONG DOSE of FlatWormControl (supposedly 5x stronger than FWE), shaking, brushing as much off as possible, then dosing whole tank
Follow instructions on package, do a 20-25% Waterchange
I would repeat a week later, then maybe dose the whole tank acouple days after that, fish and all
They are easy to kill, but eggs will keep hatching for awhile

limestro
08-19-2008, 04:46 PM
Here are some footnotes I lazy typing.

FlatWorm Exit:
-Pros: Easy to use and less manual labor (in comparison to just siphoning of). Suggested to run carbon when dosing, not necessary. Water changes would a must to siphon the detrius and die off (of the flatworms).
-Cons: Possibility of killing of shrimps.

Flatworm Eating Fish (i.e. Sixline or other types of Wrasses):
-Pros: Let nature do its work. No Manual labor involved.