PDA

View Full Version : 60g Cube - 18 months since I started it.

lucubrator
11-20-2006, 01:57 AM
Since I’ve been commenting here for a couple years now, I figured it was about time to show some pictures of my tank.

The first is the first tank that I bought on my own. It was a 29g pine with light stain, but after realizing that it was too thin front to back, I decided on something a little deeper – a 60g cube (2’x2’x2’).

So I bought the tank from MParkis, for almost nothing, with a hole drilled in the middle back, and built the overflow for it. Overflows are pretty easy to make: Just cut the acrylic to a little bigger than you want, cut some teeth with a table saw, or make a jig if you’re handy, and then bend it with a piece of wood and a heat gun.

So I siliconed that in place, and then made a hofer gurgle buster, which seems to be working well. I can’t hear it over any of the other noises in the tank (skimmer, mostly).

Then I used the pond foam to coat the overflow, and make it a little bit better looking, I hoped. It’s nice because you can just stick sps frags into it, but I’ve noticed that it does break down.

lucubrator
11-20-2006, 01:59 AM
Then I got on to making the stand. With Dakota’s (and sometimes Rachel’s) help we got the 2x4 frame together, and cut and assembled the ˝” oak face frames. The stand to the bottom of the tank is 37” tall, the tank is 24”, and the stand is 12” putting the whole thing at 6’1”.

Then I cut and glued on ˝” quarter-round on the corners, filled the nail holes with putty, sanded a whole bunch, and used Jharr’s router to round over the top edges. I really like the clean wooden looking stands without too many frills, so that’s what I was going for.
I set the oak 1.25” above the 2x4 frame so the black trim wouldn’t show when looking at the tank from across the room, but haven’t found a way to hide them better up close.