PDA

View Full Version : Meaning behind the nursery rhyme....getting serious on you this time

Heather
11-14-2006, 11:02 AM
I'm passing this along because I find it interesting and horrifying...
Once upon a time I was a preschool teacher and sang these songs with my kids...I had no idea....
Heather

Recently there is a new artist out of Saint Louis that goes by the name JIBBS. Jibbs debut single "Chain hang low" has a history that most people are not aware of. The particular nursery rhyme that the song mimics is "Ears Hang Low" The history behind this nursery rhyme is that during the civil war Confederate soldiers would remove certain body parts (primarily ears and testicles) from the deceased corpses of freed slaves who were fighting as Northern (Yankee) soldiers after their battles. These "trinkets" were then placed on a rope necklace and worn as a trophy piece. As the lyrics to the nursery rhyme state "do your ears hang low, do they wobble to and fro... etc" "Can you throw them over your shoulder like a (Continental) soldier". This word (Continental) took this nursery rhyme from racist jargon to playful melody. The word that filled this space was (Confederate) as in Confederate soldier. Other nursery rhymes have done the same i.e. Eenie, Meenie, Minee, Moe catch a Ni**er by his toe. Not Tiger. My question to young people black and white is that "Does knowing the history of the nursery rhyme change your opinion of the New single by Jibbs." Personally knowing this myself I can't stand to hear the song. It seems to advertise our ignorance as a people, and I wrote this note to inform people of this. Knowledge is power, and Ignorance IS NOT BLISS; its SUICIDE.

....remember, "the battlefield is your mind....and those who are ignorant of it's fruit, will eat the sword".........

supaboy1981
11-14-2006, 11:17 AM