PDA

View Full Version : antivirus question

alien4fish
11-12-2006, 06:43 AM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: I know this may be a dumb quest. but i just bought a laptop and have Nortons on my desk top do i need to put Nortons on my lap top too? this is my 1st lap top so im kinda new at this whole wireless connection thing. does my desk top antivirus carry over to my lap top:confused: ?? any help would be great!
Thanks in advance,
Kevin

july865
11-12-2006, 07:25 AM
i have had norton and mcafee. both are good. but i recommend NOD32. less intrucive, wont hog alot of cpu clock cycles or ram. very large corp use it for their computers. check their site. cant recall off the top of my head. run a google.
if your laptop will be on the net, its safer with it(or any antivirus) than w/o. also get defender(free) and spybot(free). adaware, by lavasoft(also free)

alien4fish
11-12-2006, 08:19 AM
cool thank you i will chek it out, i have nortons on hand so i will install that right awayThank you again

luistwentyone
11-12-2006, 01:56 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: I know this may be a dumb quest. but i just bought a laptop and have Nortons on my desk top do i need to put Nortons on my lap top too? this is my 1st lap top so im kinda new at this whole wireless connection thing. does my desk top antivirus carry over to my lap top:confused: ?? any help would be great!
Thanks in advance,
Kevin

I would stay away from Norton, I wouldn't install it on my worst enemies computer

we use McAfee at work, and Microsoft Defender, just plain sucks, use Adaware

victortrav
11-12-2006, 02:04 PM
also good pratice is to get a fire wall other than the windows one especially if you have broadband internet

jacksandgo
11-12-2006, 02:42 PM
After 15 years in the Info Tech field, I'd say running Windows without antivirus software is techie suicide. So, find one you like and put it on everything and make sure it autoupdates virus signatures daily.