PDA

View Full Version : My classroom 10

ilikualot
10-06-2006, 07:51 AM
So with the help of some of you here I have a 10 gallon that is up and running. I am new to these little tanks so I will take any suggestions at all. I have had the rock in here a week now and I am going to test the parameters on Monday. Lots of stuff on this rock all ready. Little bug looking things(Pods?) These are bigger than I have ever seen in my tank, feather dusters lots of little ones. The students are way impressed by them. PLus there are some anenomes. I dont think they are apistasia. They have white dots on their ends. I saw alot of them at the begining but maybe now they are disappearing.

My plans are to add a bunch of frags from my tank and many people have offered some stuff. I am going to try and pick up the light this weekend.

I still need to get these:

(If you have anything let me know. I am on a budget. The class has raised $48)

A light T5 or MH
Cleaning crew. Right now I have one big snail and have seen two baby snails.
A small pump to move water around the tank.
Fish (pair of clowns and possibly a goby/pistol)
Corals

please let me know what you think and I will try to update this as things get moving.

slurpeshark
10-06-2006, 09:15 AM
I can donate a couple hermits and/or snails if you'd like... just pm me and let me know

crstjohn
10-06-2006, 10:42 AM
I have some pulsating Xenia which is very interesting to kids!

ilikualot
10-20-2006, 10:42 AM
So here is the update on the classroom tank. The kids are way into it. They come in every period excited about what is new in the tank.

New Additions:
New tank. The Odyysea was leaking. Now I have a 10 gallon glass from walmart. $9
4x24w T-5 lighting.
CPR Refugium. Got a great deal and it fits perfectly on the tank. Lots of pods swimming around in there.

Inhabitants:
2 clowns
1 coral Banded
2 Peppermint
Possibly buying a pistol Goby today.

Corals Tried to take pics but was using a students camera that was bad.