PDA

View Full Version : electrical work

BlueLagoonSD
06-10-2004, 11:21 PM
The area where my tank doesnt have any outlets near by. Just wondering how hard it is to hook up an outlet. All this electrical talk confuses me. I know for a tank this size need its own circuit:confused: I dont know... Hoping one of you handy man can help me plan out what I need to have set up.

Go Hernando
06-10-2004, 11:29 PM
I hear extention cords work well. Beyond that, I'm not much help.

BlueLagoonSD
06-10-2004, 11:33 PM
lol thats what i was planning to do too, but I think I will be juicing the hell out of one outlet ....dont wanna blow any fuses...does that even happen...lol i dont know anything about electricity:confused:

SanDiegoReefs
06-11-2004, 12:22 AM
I think there are a few in-house electricians here. Try Dave M. I forget who else does electrical work, but I know there are a few.

-moore

suver569
06-11-2004, 04:30 AM
<---------

I'm a Journeyman electrician. I'm going to be hooking Chap up with some power for his tanks just like you need. PM me and we can talk.

jetor
06-11-2004, 05:47 AM
You will definently need several dedicated curcuits for the tank.

The way I figured out my tanks was to add all the max loads (amps) that my equipment would be drawing and added 25% to that so that I wouldn't be at peak amp draw at any one curcuit. I then split the two biggest power consumers (chiller and metal halides) onto the two separate 20's.

I would venture a guess that you will need three to four 20 amp curcuits.

Jasen

BlueLagoonSD
06-11-2004, 10:24 AM
:confused: is the procedure and equpiment costly? Sounds complicated?

Bickmade
06-11-2004, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by suver569
<---------

I'm a Journeyman electrician. I'm going to be hooking Chap up with some power for his tanks just like you need. PM me and we can talk.

Wow, i was thinking the same thing. Any chance you can hook me up too LOL

ricestudios
06-11-2004, 11:39 AM