PDA

View Full Version : Complete newb here!

XianRaider
09-05-2013, 07:39 PM
Hey all..

I has always been my dream to have a salt water and a reef tank... Recently the opportunity to get a tank came up, and here I am...

I purchased a 120 gallon tank, and had a stand built... The tank came with all used equipment, including a sump, uv filter, protein skimmer, power heads and so on.., But, I really have no idea where to go from here... I have this beautiful tank (that I had refurbished and scratches removed)

I was wondering if any one could help me get started by first teaching me how to properly clean the equipment, and the what order to place it in,,,, oh, and the best way to test it to see if it still works....

It came with a light system, which I do not like, so I am also looking for suggestions as to what light systems are best,,,, should I just get rid of the stuff I got, and start with new equipment,,,

Thanks for any advice....

Dave

couger
09-05-2013, 07:46 PM
welcome! first off I would post a list of everything you have. equipment wise. light ypw and specs. then what type of reef you are wanting, LPS , SPS, mixed... there are tons of info on this site and people who will bend over backwards to help and for advice. were are you located? new setups are always fun, I'm sure you can find people to lend a hand in setting up

Vince
09-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Welcome to sd reefs! Best advise is read, read, then read some more. When I started I watched allot of this guys videos http://www.mrsaltwatertank.com/mr-saltwater-tank-tv/ --remember you tube is your friend. Everyone here will help out as well . Nice to meet you Dave...Vince

NavyDad74
09-05-2013, 07:52 PM
Hey all..

I has always been my dream to have a salt water and a reef tank... Recently the opportunity to get a tank came up, and here I am...