PDA

View Full Version : New Member and New to the Hobby

cldme
05-23-2013, 01:40 PM
Hellow everyone. Im new to the hobby but im excited about things to come. I bought a 125 gallon tank from a good fella and member in the S.D. area. Just finished the building of my stand and now starting to buff out the aquarium. I do have one question. The tank has 3 bulkheads in the back wall of the tank, should i set up 1 inlet and 2 returns or drill a 4th hole for 2 and 2. Still unsure if i want to do a reef or something else.

smirkis
05-23-2013, 01:56 PM
sup!

depending how large that 1 outlet is, 1 should be enough. i am going to be running 1 outlet, and 1 return. so it's really up to how you want it.

welcome aboard, and being on sdreefs, i am sure you will end up with reef tank. too many great deals around here from great fellow reefers that will help you stock that tank up in no time!

cldme
05-23-2013, 02:03 PM
Thanks. Im trying to build as much as I can for this project but im finding out its a big learning curve. The holes are 1 1/2 inch outside diameter so i assume 1 inch plumbing.

jasonp87
05-23-2013, 03:21 PM
From what I have learned over the years it is best to plan for the tank to be a reef tank. You don't have to start out that way but it makes the transition easier when all the pieces are in place for when you decide to go that route. I say when because everyone that starts out with a fish only tank ends up seeing all the pretty corals and converts :)

cldme
05-23-2013, 04:29 PM
http://i1296.photobucket.com/albums/ag18/cldme/TankandStand_zps84453551.jpg (http://s1296.photobucket.com/user/cldme/media/TankandStand_zps84453551.jpg.html)

Thanks for the info. Heres where im at so far.

MustangBill
06-05-2013, 09:12 AM
Lookin good! Nice stand work!