PDA

View Full Version : Memorial Day

gonereefin
05-31-2004, 02:43 PM
For those that do not know. It's not just a day for BBQ's, going to the beach and having fun. Although, what we enjoy today, many sacrificed to secure these freedoms for us.

Memorial Day, originally called Decoration Day, is a day of remembrance for those who have died in our nation's service. It is about reconcilation; it is about coming together to honor those who gave their all.

http://www.usmemorialday.org/

nalbar
05-31-2004, 03:15 PM
that's for politicians. for the average person its for BBQ and getting drunk.

nalbar

gonereefin
05-31-2004, 04:29 PM
Speak for yourself.... I was a college student and am definitely not a politician... but still know about Memorial Day and still pay homage and remember those who gave to our country. I still throw good BBQ's... and drink beer... and have fun on this day "Memorial Day" and always consider myself tucked into society as a "normal" person , but still know the main reason for this day.

What are you guys... communist? LOL

nalbar
05-31-2004, 06:36 PM
Originally posted by gonereefin

What are you guys... communist? LOL

you say that like it would be an insult!

btw, you should perhaps inform yourself. no country celebrated national days more than the soviet union. in fact, if you did NOT celebrate the police came and got you. this was because totalitarian governments use nationalism to distract the populace and disparage 'outsiders'.

its a trick ALL governments use when they need to. freedom to doubt and celebrate the way YOU feel is correct is also a right verterans died for, not just politically correct versions of celebration.

nalbar

ronreef
05-31-2004, 07:45 PM
you say that like it would be an insult!

I thought it was meant as insult... I hope he meant it as an insult.

Tell us, NALBAR, how do you really feel about communism?!
Are you an American? If so, I would be ashamed to call you one.